Encounter with a Rickshaw driver in Mumbai‏

June 18, 2009 at 6:42 pm 21 comments

Suvendu Roy of Titan Industries shares his inspirational encounter with a rickshaw driver in Mumbai:

Last Sunday, my wife, kid, and I had to travel to  Andheri from Bandra. When I waved at a passing auto rickshaw, little did I  expect that this ride would be any different. As we set off, my eyes fell on a few magazines(kept in an aircraft style pouch) behind the driver’s back rest. I looked  in  front and there was a small TV. The driver had put on the Doordarshan channel.
 
My wife and I looked at each other with disbelief and amusement. In front of me was a small first-aid box with cotton, dettol and some medicines. This was enough for me to realise that I was in  a special vehicle. Then I looked round again, and discovered more – there was a radio, fire extinguisher, wall clock, calendar, and pictures and symbols of all faiths – from Islam and Christianity to  Buddhism, Hinduism and Sikhism. There were also pictures of  the  heroes of 26/11- Kamte, Salaskar, Karkare and Unnikrishnan. I realised that  not only my vehicle, but also my driver was special.

I started chatting with him and the initial sense of  ridicule and disbelief gradually diminished. I gathered that he had been driving an auto rickshaw for the past 8-9 years; he had lost his job  when his employer’s plastic company was shut down. He had two  school-going children, and he drove from 8 in the morning till 10 at  night. No break unless he was unwell.  “Sahab, ghar mein baith ke  TV  dekh kar kya  faida? Do paisa income karega toh future mein kaam aayega.”

We realised that we had come across a man who represents  Mumbai – the spirit of work, the spirit of travel and the spirit of  excelling in life. I asked him whether he does anything else as I  figured that he did  not have too much spare time. He said that he goes to an old age home for women in Andheri once a week or whenever he has some extra income, where he donates tooth  brushes, toothpastes, soap,  hair oil, and other items of daily use. He pointed out to a painted message below  the meter that read: “25 per cent discount on metered fare for the  handicapped. Free rides for blind passengers up to  Rs. 50.

My wife and I were struck with awe. The man was a HERO! A hero who deserves all our respect. Our journey came to an end; 45 minutes of a lesson in humility, selflessness, and of a hero-worshipping Mumbai, my temporary home. We disembarked, and all I could do was to pay him a tip that would hardly cover a free ride for a blind man.

I hope, one day, you too have a chance to meet Mr Sandeep  Bachhe in his auto rickshaw: MH-02-Z-8508

1

2

3

Entry filed under: India, info. Tags: , , , , .

Al-Aqsa Facing “Real, Immediate” Danger Sense of Humor

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nadia  |  June 18, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Mr Sandeep Bachhe is truly an inspiration! I love this story on how this man, who struggles hard to barely make both ends meet, still finds the energy, time and money to help others. A hero indeed!

    ~True, he is really an inspiration to all good people.

    Reply
  • 2. Specs  |  June 19, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Wow… one never knows where we’ll find inspiration… the guy amazes me!

    Thank you for sharing this.. and the photographs; they make it all so much more real to us readers like we were actually there. 🙂

    ~You are most Welcome 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Behbood  |  June 19, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Kya miyaan… hamara weekend shuru hora idhar aur sentimental post maar diye aap… Nevertheless, an inspiration post!! Also makes us reflect on what the recession has done to people world-wide. We should definitely be thankful to the almighty for having jobs.

    Very true, Alhumdulillah we shoulb be grateful to almighty every second for the comfortable life.

    Reply
  • 4. Monica Banerjee  |  July 9, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    It would have been hard to imagine without these photographs. The wonderful instance proves that one doesn’t need to have a deep pocket to be charitable rather to have a will to contribute and a big heart!

    I appreciate the effort made to share the amazing story!

    Thanks again! It’s truly inspiring! 🙂

    Monica

    ~ Thanks for your kind words and Welcome to my blog 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Anika  |  July 13, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Wow. Truly impressive. My heart feels so good that there are such good people in the world even today. I wish everyone was more generous like this guy.

    ~Truly said. Welcome to my blog, Anika.

    Reply
  • 6. Sups  |  July 26, 2009 at 6:23 am

    This story is not just heart rendering but also so inspiring. This shows not just being a mumbaite but also being an amazing and a rare humanbeing in this age.

    A person who not just works hard for his family but also makes sure that he is doing his share for the society. Lot of us only say it but when it actually comes to doing such kind of work is amazing.

    Blessed to have such kind of people in this world. God bless this man and his family. And thanks for bringing it to lot of our attention.

    ~He is a real Philanthropist. Thanks for your comments and Welcome to my blog.

    Reply
  • 7. Bill  |  September 18, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    Reply
  • 8. Bill  |  September 18, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read…:)

    Reply
  • 9. Bill  |  September 20, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..

    Reply
  • 10. Terry Brooks  |  September 25, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  • 11. Online Stock Investing  |  September 30, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

    ~Thanks

    Reply
  • 12. gene  |  October 12, 2009 at 2:19 am

    yeh right.. great post, Thank You

    Reply
  • 13. HenleyL  |  October 13, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Hey, I really enjoy your blog. I have a blog too in a totally unrelated field but I like to check in here on a regular basis, just to see what’s going on and it’s always interesting to say the least. It’s always entertaining what people have to say.

    Reply
  • 14. Nasreen  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:53 am

    MashaAllah! It’s sad that the rich & famous constantly get awarded for doing nothing whereas people like him go unnoticed. Maybe the government should start a fund for people like him to promote brotherhood and good will.

    Jazakallah khair for sharing. 😀

    ~ Thanks for the kind comments. sis 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Debt Relief  |  October 23, 2009 at 3:25 am

    Great headline. If your cookie has a bite-sized action and your reader completes the action, I think two things happen. Their self-confidence goes up (which feels good) and their trust in you increases.

    Reply
  • 16. JoJo John  |  October 23, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Hi there Wasup .
    I i saw ya post on masoodmemon.wordpress.com
    Very interesting
    In fact I have been researching for something like this for ages
    masoodmemon.wordpress.com is definitely on my bookmarksnow.
    Great effort keep up the good work !
    John

    Reply
  • 17. JoJo Jacky  |  October 26, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Hi there Wasup .
    I i saw the blog on masoodmemon.wordpress.com
    Very interesting
    In fact I have been researching for this for ages
    masoodmemon.wordpress.com is a site i’ll keep bookmarked
    Great effort keep up the good work !
    John

    Reply
  • 18. JoJo Jonboy Jnr  |  November 1, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Hello there Wasup.
    I i saw the thread on masoodmemon.wordpress.com
    Very interesting
    In fact I have been Googling for something similar for months
    masoodmemon.wordpress.com will see me back again
    Great effort congratulations!
    John

    Reply
  • 19. Instant  |  March 11, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Nice blog you have here. I’ve enjoyed having a good look around 🙂

    Reply
  • 20. Sterling Lepard  |  April 4, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

    ~Thanks

    Reply
  • 21. Amster  |  April 30, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Man!!!!!!!!! Im from Mumbai and im searching for this rickshaw were did u find him im though searching for him in the said location………………..dam im curious to meet this guy and his vehicle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


House in Paradise!

Narrated AbuUmamah: The Prophet (peace_be_upon_him) said: I guarantee a house in the surroundings of Paradise for a man who avoids quarrelling even if he were in the right, a house in the middle of Paradise for a man who avoids lying even if he were joking, and a house in the upper part of Paradise for a man who made his character good.(Sunan Abu Dawood,Book 41, Number 4782)

IndiRanking

masoodmemon.wordpress.com
60/100

Nokia Blog Award!

Archives

Visitors

  • 479,762 since July 8 '08

Visitors!

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

