Sardarji Facts

February 3, 2009 at 5:25 pm 9 comments

sardargifIt’s true..  We all love Sardar jokes. But do you know that Sikhs are one of the most hard working prosperous and diversified communities in the world.  My friend told me about the following incident which I wish to share with you. It has had a deep impact on my thinking.  During last vacation, my few friends went to Delhi . They rented a taxi for local sight-seeing. The driver was an old Sardar and boys being boys, these pals began cracking Sardarji jokes, just to tease the old man. 

But to their surprise, the fellow remained unperturbed.  At the end of the sight-seeing, they paid the cab hire-charges. The Sardar returned the change, but he gave each one of them one rupee extra and said,  ”Son, since morning you have been telling Sardarji jokes. I listened to them all and let me tell you, some of them were in bad taste. Still, I don’t mind coz I know that you are young blood and are yet to see the world. But I have one request. I am giving you one rupee each. Give it to the first Sardar beggar that you come across in this or any other city.’  My friend continued,* ‘ That one rupee coin is still with me. I couldn’t find a single Sardar begging anywhere.’ 

MORAL :
The secret behind their universal success, is their willingness to do any job with utmost dedication and pride. A Sardar will drive a truck or set up a roadside garage or a dhaba, put a fruit juice stall, take up small time carpentry,.. ……… . but he will never beg on the streets. 

Isn’t this very thought provoking ???

Entry filed under: info. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Winter In Cambridge Biggest Biryani Bowl at Global Village

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nadia  |  February 3, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Aww, I am touched by this story. Also bit guilty because frankly speaking, I do enjoy sardar ji jokes.

    ~ Same here, Jaan 😦

    Reply
  • 2. mushtaq ilyas  |  February 3, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    you opened my eyes dude even i make fun of sardars.:( thanks for sharing it.

    ~ You’re welcome, bro. Glad you open my post 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Amir  |  February 3, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Goes to show the strength of character. Interesting story BTW.

    Reply
  • 4. Abid  |  February 4, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Why do you think this is? Is it in their culture to do a job with pride?

    ~It’s their way of thinking that no job is shameful and it’s better to do a job rather begging.

    Reply
  • 5. Specs  |  February 4, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Oh wow. How come I’ve never thought of it like that. Thanks for giving us a new perspective on this: its true. I don’t remember a SardarJi beggar now that I come to think of it…

    Reply
  • 6. Niyaz  |  February 4, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Interesting facts bro !!

    Reply
  • 7. Mythos  |  February 5, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Now that is an awesome story my friend.

    ~ Mythos
    http://mindofmythos.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 8. Haleem  |  February 8, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    true… I never thought of it before, I didn’t see a single Sardar begger in India.

    Reply
  • 9. B. Dasgupta  |  February 9, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    I am not surprised. Unless you are on a higher podium you cannot enjoy jokes on you. It requires tremendous intelligence, inderstanding and sense of humour to do that. I always had very high regards for Sardarjis. I remember while I was undergoing in service training in Delhi, my best friend was one N.P.Singh Oberoi. He always used to insist- ” Guru aur ek sardar joke sunao” What greatness can you imagine. But then sardar jokes will be there and the sardars we will also enjoy them as much as we will, for that is all for fun and nothing else!.

    ~ Bilkul Theek :), I do agree with you. Thanks for the comments and Welcome to my blog 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


House in Paradise!

Narrated AbuUmamah: The Prophet (peace_be_upon_him) said: I guarantee a house in the surroundings of Paradise for a man who avoids quarrelling even if he were in the right, a house in the middle of Paradise for a man who avoids lying even if he were joking, and a house in the upper part of Paradise for a man who made his character good.(Sunan Abu Dawood,Book 41, Number 4782)

IndiRanking

masoodmemon.wordpress.com
60/100

Nokia Blog Award!

Archives

Visitors

  • 480,622 since July 8 '08

Visitors!

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

