Questions your interviewer doesn’t want to hear

October 2, 2008 at 10:47 am 6 comments

Curious about the number of vacation days you’ll get or your chances for climbing the corporate ladder? Good questions, but the initial interview is not the time or place to ask.

I know all the job-search advice you hear says the interview is the time to find out if a job is a good fit for you, as well as to present yourself as someone who is qualified for the job. That’s true. But determining whether the job is a good fit does not mean getting answers to the question, “What can you do for me and how quickly?”

Here’s what I mean. The initial interview with the hiring manager is not the place to ask the following questions:

How many vacation days would I get? If you’re already thinking about time off and you haven’t even gotten the job yet, then what does that say about your work ethic? True, benefits like vacation days play a very important part in the worth of a job, but this first interview is not the place to ask. Wait until a second or third interview, or when the actual job offer comes, to ask.

Do you require overtime? Same with this question. It’s absolutely valid, but hold the question until later. Instead, ask “What’s an average day like here?”

What kind of health benefits do you have? Again, getting the answer to this question is a must, just not at this time. If you ask it in the initial interview, not only are you implying that you would settle for any job as long as your next root canal was covered, but some companies don’t even like to release that information until they have a serious candidate.

What are the chances for advancement? Think about it. You’re a manager going through the exhaustive hiring process, and the person you’re about to hire wants to know how long she has to do the job before she can move on to greener pastures. Not a good sign. (When I asked one candidate where she saw herself in five years, she laughed and said, “In your job.” She meant it as some kind of trite expression of her admirable ambition, but it put me on my guard. I wasn’t insecure in my own job status, but I also didn’t want somebody standing around like the Grim Reaper waiting for my health to take a bad turn.)

In your initial interview, talk only about the job duties, expectations, and your qualifications. The bargaining chips come later.

Source: Techrepublic

Entry filed under: info. Tags: , , , .

Eid Mubarak! Benefits of Surah Fatiha

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wakas Mir  |  October 2, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    nice ones 😛 I remember at an interview I had more skills than the interviewer and i did the last stunt cuz I was not comfortable with the role, I said after he asked me where do you see yourself in 5 years…”In your role” 😛 And yes I didn’t get a phone call.. thank God 🙂

    ##############################################
    LOL, ofcourse he is very skeptical and insecure about his job.

    Reply
  • 2. Ab  |  October 3, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Do you copy these from somplace or do you write them yourself?

    Reply
  • 3. Ab  |  October 3, 2008 at 6:02 am

    I ask becasue they are very useful tips!

    Reply
  • 4. Ab  |  October 3, 2008 at 8:11 am

    I am stupid…I didn’t read the “source” part at the bottom
    ***********************

    No worries, Ab

    Reply
  • 5. nadia  |  October 3, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Nice and helpful tips, Jaan. I think I asked a couple of such questions during one of my interviews (that insurance company), and surprisingly they hired me. I left that job after two days though, hehehe.

    ########################
    It happens with everyone in initial stages but am glad you left that company as it was not worth to your qualification.

    Reply
  • 6. GeekiSiddiqui  |  October 5, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    I agree with all except the last one. Of course the way you have it stated is bad. But in general I always want to know what the typical career progression is from the position I’m interviewing for.

    ######################################################
    Thanks for the comment, geekisiddiqui. Well…it depends on person to person how they take the things into understanding….my intention was just to explore the interview scenarios keeping different levels of interviews and the way to handle them. If the interview has only level then there is no need to keep quite in asking the progress..I hope you got me 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


House in Paradise!

Narrated AbuUmamah: The Prophet (peace_be_upon_him) said: I guarantee a house in the surroundings of Paradise for a man who avoids quarrelling even if he were in the right, a house in the middle of Paradise for a man who avoids lying even if he were joking, and a house in the upper part of Paradise for a man who made his character good.(Sunan Abu Dawood,Book 41, Number 4782)

IndiRanking

masoodmemon.wordpress.com
60/100

Nokia Blog Award!

Archives

Visitors

  • 478,192 since July 8 '08

Visitors!

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

